About Me

First, I want to remind you about the book I’m plugging: Hunters of the Feather. Ten percent of all royalties are sent to bird-friendly organizations, such as the National Audubon Society.

Hunters of the Feather: Book 1 of the Crow Nickels

A little about me:

My name is Victoria Grossack, and I’m the author of the books in the Crow Nickels. At the time I’m writing this, only one of them is available, but I have drafted the next two volumes.

I have a degree in Creative Writing & English Literature from Dartmouth College, and an MBA from Indiana University. I’m also a Fellow of the Casualty Actuarial Society.

Besides the Crow Nickels, I have written a lot of other stuff, mostly very different from the Crow Nickels. There are actuarial study manuals, which are only relevant if you are studying to become an actuary (insurance mathematics). There are mysteries set in the worlds of Jane Austen novels. These are great if you like Jane Austen because I do a decent job of imitating her voice. I have also written, with Alice Underwood, the Tapestry of Bronze, a series of Greek mythology based books set in the Bronze Age. Below you’ll find links to my other books.

Jane Austen Novel Based Mysteries

The Meryton Murders: Spend time with Elizabeth Darcy, who returns to Meryton when she hears alarming news about Jane Bingley.

The Highbury Murders: Emma gives up her matchmaker mantle to don the cloak of detective.

The Mansfield Park Murders: The family gathers to celebrate the marriage of Fanny and Edmund. Then people start dying and long-hidden secrets are revealed.

The Tapestry of Bronze (with Alice Underwood)

Jocasta: The Mother-Wife of Oedipus. Jocasta had all the facts; did she ever figure out that she was married to her son? This novel is used by some high schools as a companion to Sophocles’ Oedipus Rex – and it’s much easier to read.

Antigone & Creon: Guardians of Thebes. Antigone defies her uncle, King Creon, who walls her up in a cave to die. The sequel to Jocasta, every second counts as she waits in the dark tomb. Uses the real geology of Thebes, including caves where her brothers were buried!

Clytemnestra: The Mother’s Blade. You think you know the story of Helen of Troy and Homer’s The Iliad? Read what Clytemnestra really thought about Agamemnon and Menelaus.

The Niobe trilogy: Children of Tantalus, The Road to Thebes, and Arrows of Artemis. You may remember the story of Niobe, who insulted a goddess and whose children were killed in retaliation. Read this trilogy and find out who we believe was really behind this ancient mass murder.